

The Woke 401(k) Rule Must Be Repealed

March 28, 2023

Dear Speaker McCarthy, Leader Scalise, and Whip Emmer,

Thank you for your efforts to repeal the highly concerning Biden-Harris Department of Labor rule, "Prudence and Loyalty in Selecting Plan Investments and Exercising Shareholder Rights," which would allow leftwing "ESG" priorities to take precedence over returns for 401(k) investments.

We are grateful that you advanced the Congressional Review Act resolution (H.J.Res. 30) and sent it to President Biden's desk. It is unconscionable that he vetoed this resolution. At a time when he took swift action to bail out wealthy California depositors at Silicon Valley Bank, Biden has demonstrated that the value of middle-class workers' retirement savings is not as important as progressive values on the environment, biological sex, and other matters.

Because millions of workers will still be hurt by this rule, we look forward to your ongoing legislative efforts to repeal it. For example, a repeal of this rule could be included as part of an upcoming appropriations bill.

Please let us know how we can support you in this and other initiatives to protect workers' savings.

Sincerely,

Paul Teller Executive Director Advancing American Freedom

Grover Norquist President Americans for Tax Reform

Steve Buri President Discovery Institute

Jessica Anderson Executive Director Heritage Action for America Brent Gardner Senior Vice President Americans for Prosperity

David McIntosh President Club for Growth

Greg Sindelar Chief Executive Officer Texas Public Policy Foundation

Richard Morrison Senior Fellow Competitive Enterprise Institute Kimberly Yee Julie A. Ellsworth

Treasurer Treasurer State of Arizona State of Idaho

Daniel M. Elliott John M. Schroder

Treasurer Treasurer

State of Indiana State of Louisiana

David McRae Vivek Malek Treasurer Treasurer

State of Mississippi State of Missouri

John Murante Thomas Beadle Treasurer Treasurer

State of Nebraska State of North Dakota

Todd Russ Stacy Garrity
Treasurer Treasurer

State of Oklahoma State of Pennsylvania

Josh HaederMarlo OaksTreasurerTreasurerState of South DakotaState of Utah

Riley Moore Derek Kreifels

Treasurer Chief Executive Officer

State of West Virginia State Financial Officers Foundation (SFOF)

Bob Carlstrom Shawnna LM Bolick
President Former State Representative
AMAC Action Arizona House of Representatives

Thomas Jones Carla Sonntag
President President and CEO

American Accountability Foundation Better Together New Mexico

Phil Kerpen Ralph Benko President Chairman

American Commitment The Capitalist League

Dick Patten Ryan Ellis President President

American Business Defense Council Center for a Free Economy

Daniel J. Mitchell

President

Center for Freedom and Prosperity

Jameson Taylor, Ph.D. President and CEO

Center for Political Renewal (CPR)

Penny Nance CEO and President

Concerned Women for America LAC

Dr. Steven J. Allen, JD, PhD

Vice Chairman

The Conservative Caucus

The Honorable George K. Rasley, Jr.

Managing Editor

ConservativeHQ.com

Kristen A. Ullman

President Eagle Forum

Suzi Voyles President

Eagle Forum of Georgia

Tarren Bragdon

President and CEO

Bette Grande

CEO

The Heartland Institute

Diana Furchtgott-Roth

Director, Center for Energy, Climate, and Environment

Foundation for Government Accountability

The Heritage Foundation

Heather R. Higgins

CEO

Independent Women's Voice

Andrew Langer

President

Institute for Liberty

F. Vincent Vernuccio, J.D.

President

Institute for the American Worker

Seton Motley

Founder and President Less Government

Jason Isaac

Director

Life:Powered

David Ridenour

President

National Center for Public Policy Research

Tim Jones

Former Speaker

Missouri House of Representatives

Paul Stam

Former Speaker Pro Tem

NC House of Representatives

Kevin Freeman

Founder

NSIC Institute

Gerard Kassar

State Chairman

NYS Conservative Party

Duvi Honig

Founder and Chief Executive Officer

Orthodox Jewish Chamber of Commerce

Dave Zimmerman

Member

Pennsylvania House of Representatives

Fran Bevan

State Leader, Pennsylvania Phyllis Schlafly Eagles

Donna Jackson

Director of Membership Development Project 21 Black Leadership Network

Charlie Gerow

CEO

Quantum Communications

Matt Bell CEO

Reliable Energy, Inc.

Paul Gessing President

Rio Grande Foundation

Mike Stenhouse

CEO

RI Center for Freedom & Prosperity

Allen Roth President

Secure America Now

Saulius "Saul" Anuzis

President

60 Plus Association

James L. Martin Founder/Chairman 60 Plus Association Andrew Sorrell State Auditor State of Alabama

Mike Harmon

Auditor of Public Accounts

State of Kentucky

Mike Kehoe

Lieutenant Governor State of Missouri

Scott Fitzpatrick State Auditor State of Missouri

The Honorable Carrie Isaac State Representative (HD73) Texas House of Representatives

C. Preston Noell III

President

Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Donald L. Luskin

Chief Investment Officer

TrendMacro

Nate Dunning

Chairman

Young Conservatives of Texas

Cc: House Appropriations Committee, House Rules Committee